Nanowrimo: starting week 3 off not with a bang but a whimper

I’m currently about 5,000 words behind. No surprise there!

My favorite strategies that I’ve used so far this year to keep the novel (and the word count) moving:

Pretty much starting over twice, but keeping the word count from the scrapped plots.

Length (and I mean lengthy) character background descriptions that drone on for pages.

Introducing brand new characters into the story like they were there from the start, just to spice things up.

Lots of scenes of people just sitting around drinking. Apparently all of my characters are alcoholics.

The thing that I’ve learned from Nanowrimo is that I will probably never have an actual publishable novel at the end. It’s just not the way I write. So for me, it’s about the ideas. Can I stumble across an idea or a character or a setting that I love if I just sit down and make myself write? If I just continue to word-vomit for the rest of this month, something interesting is bound to jump out of my mind and splatter onto the page.

Off to week 3…

Leave a Reply

