For My Birthday, A Rejection Letter

Big news, everyone! I have received my first response letter from a legitimate publication! Yes, it was a rejection letter, and yes, I know I should not be excited. However, I think this feels something like when you run a marathon but get last place. I feel as though I’ve accomplished something simply because I submitted a story I genuinely believe in, and the rejection just means I don’t get the first place prize money.

Now, ask me after the 20th rejection letter and I imagine I will give you quite a different analogy.

Also, tomorrow is my birthday. You know what that means…Ren Fair this weekend!

Leave a Reply

