As NaNoWriMo 2011 Breathes Down My Neck…

Total Word Count: 212

With the short story finished, it’s time to start brainstorming my novel idea for National Novel Writing Month in November. Only two months to develop a plot-line and build a brand new world scares me a bit, especially with no idea formed yet. However, this is the time when I also find writing the most engaging. When I’m in the full throes of writing a story, sometimes I have to drag myself to the page; but, when I’m just feeling around in the dark for an idea and letting my mind go where it wants, I deeply enjoy the process.

I think I’ll get to a good idea. I have before. But the trick is going to be making it complex enough to pull off a whole novel, and one that I’m interested in seeing to the finish line.

#

Applications for the Stanford Writer’s Certificate open on September 1st. I’m going to apply this year and see where it takes me.

Leave a Reply

